Pluto is now Officially Downgraded

Posted: August 24, 2006 in Learning

Our 12 planets

Sorry had to search on this before posting as it was rumoured for some time and has even been Quoted on many spoof reportsbut it is now Official following the resolution by the IAU Pluto will be the bench mark for a new and growing class of planet called Plutons or whick Pluto will now be a part

for more from IAU here is the link

BBC News report

so now there is 12 planets in our solar system .. listed as follows Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Ceres, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto, Charon and 2003 UB313.

The Planet of Pluto was orriginally named by an 11 year old in 1930.. This link is from NASA and contains an interview with Venetia Phair


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s